The Drift Ghost HD and The Road Less Traveled

Come on already, Baz…What’s the hold up?

You’d think that starting a motovlog would be as easy as just strapping on the GoPro, kicking the bike in gear, and jabbering away, followed by a quick and easy upload to YouTube.

Yeah...no.

Have you met me?

Nothing seems to to go as designed for old Baz. Having always been a late bloomer, the last guy picked for the team, the guy who missed out on a lot of dates because of being too shy to walk right up and ask the girl out….but I digress.

So, as I was saying, my eagerness to begin motovlogging was initially hampered by a lack of:

  • proper mounts for the GoPro Hero3 – White (a.k.a., CHEAPEST) action cam
    • I had to buy some additional parts to craft what turned out to be a really odd-looking appendage jutting off the side of my helmet
  • proper microphone for the GoPro
    • I bought one from Amazon only to have f*cking Bank of America – a greedy pig if ever there was one– f*ck up my account balances for three days resulting in non-honored electronic debits

When these were sorted out, I tested my set up and encountered:

  • No audio above 10 m.p.h. Really…really?
  • non-functioning mic adapters (that came with the GoPro recommended mics)
  • complete illiteracy around iMovie for the Mac (Curse, you Steve Jobs…for the most unintuitive Apple product ever)

Then an Absolute Miracle Occurred

(Insert angelic chorus.. or overrevved superbikes here...)

The Drift Ghost HD went on sale for just under $200 and I snagged one. Or I thought I did…Paypal malfunctions, delivery delays, and a lot a swearing later..the Drfit finally arrived.

I mounted it on my helmet and took it out for test and was instantly rewarded with superior results…wonderful audio, great visual recordings, and and effortless system of control using the Drift remote control that I strapped to my handlebars.

Eat that, GoPro.

Drop Everything and Motovlog

Now I’m free the ride and rant, but in the intervening time (between acts of gross fiscal negligence on the part of f*cking Band of America -whom I have since drop-kicked to the curb like a smelly hitchhiker), I’ve been keeping a log of topics to start off with and a format for the finished video that shouldn’t take too long to get right. I figure, simple is the best option….if I can figure out iMovie.

I’ve been watching and learning from all kinds of motovloggers on YouTube, from the hilarious Baron von Grumble and Apple the Crumble to raging idiots with nothing much to say like….(Actually, I’m too much a gentleman to embarrass them).

Apparently Raging Idiots are All That

Besides, it’s just my opinion…and apparently a lot of people like raging idiots with nothing much to say because their subscriber numbers are in the thousands.  Who am I to criticize with my five brilliantly insightful, albeit lonely, subs?

For my first motovlog, I decided to do some basic introductions, present a few interesting facts about myself (that you’re free to forget immediately after viewing the video when it’s ready).

However, just before riding out today for a lovely hour’s ride around the Central California coast, my favorite poem from a university course in American Literature (yes, there is some) came back to me as I considered which roads to ride; In a way, it could be the prose that defines these moments for all motovloggers:

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

             -Robert Frost, Mountain Interval. 1920.

…now back to iMovie… 🙂

Leave a Reply

